Mass Bible-Based Sexual Dysfunction as Root of Culture Wars? Frank Schaeffer Breaks It Down | RD10Q | Religion Dispatches

Mass Bible-Based Sexual Dysfunction as Root of Culture Wars? Frank Schaeffer Breaks It Down | RD10Q | Religion Dispatches.

Frank Schaeffer’s book touches on questions that women have wondered about for hundreds of years. As a woman who serves as an Elder in my church, I hear it all to often. The elevation of women in society and religious communities, especially the church have not slowed misogyny attitudes. Schaeffer put a lot of thought into writing this book. He states, “The fact that I worked on this book for two years flat out for 15-plus hours a day, and took it through 28 full drafts shows that (besides being nuts), I certainly have done my utmost such as it is to give pleasure to readers. And if anyone can look at the way religion has treated and treats women and not be pissed off they have something wrong with them.” I’m just wondering if it will be received by evangelicals and fundamentalists or debunked and dismissed as untruth. Although, I have not read it I plan to. I won’t be reading for affirmation of my faith, I already know who I am. I’ll be “editing the spiritual truths that are within myself” to see if I am following the model of Jesus Christ. After all, He is the model men should follow when interacting with women. He was and still is a loving, kind, understanding LORD who acknowledged women worthiness.

Leave a Reply

